Bazhong city | Updated: Oct 20,2021
1 2 3 4 5


Bazhong is located in the northeast of Sichuan province. It was a special city of the Sichuan-Shaanxi Soviet Area in 1933. Bazhong prefecture, which was separated from Daxian prefecture, was established in 1993. In 2000, Bazhong was established as a prefectural-level city, consisting of three counties of Nanjiang, Tongjiang and Pingchang, two districts of Bazhou and Enyang, and two provincial-level zones of Bazhong Economic Development Zone and Pingchang Economic Development Zone.

Bazhong covers an area of 12,300 square kilometers and has a total population of 3.8 million. It is commonly acknowledged as one of the central cities of regional development and poverty alleviation plan in the Qinling-Dabashan mountain regions and the core zone of revitalization and development plan in Sichuan-Shaanxi Soviet Area. It has been awarded the titles of "National Health City" and "National Forest City".